Check Website
Inclusion Status
It is currently Mon Dec 18, 2017 6:40 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 2:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:49 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Russian Federation
I tried to install HOSTS file using installer, I also tried to add it manually and used HostsMan to manage HOSTS file but every time the same problem: I can't load any sites. DNS client is disabled but that does not help.

I know, I am doing something wrong, would you please help me? I really want the latest file in my system.

I am currently on Windows 8 64-bit. Thanks!

_________________
Leopold the Cat



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 3:01 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6008
Are you able to ping or tracert any sites?

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 3:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:49 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Russian Federation
Only with "Use internal DNS resolver" box cheked (via HostsMan)

_________________
Leopold the Cat



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 3:28 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6008
What DNS servers do you normally use? (the HOSTS file shouldn't normally affect any sites other than those in the HOSTS file itself).

Can you access Google?

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 3:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:49 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Russian Federation
MysteryFCM wrote:
What DNS servers do you normally use? (the HOSTS file shouldn't normally affect any sites other than those in the HOSTS file itself).

Can you access Google?


Well, my router uses these internal DNS servers provided by my provider (WAN settings)
Image

As for internet connection on my PC - it is set to get DNS settings automatically
Image

I can not access any sites through all my browsers.

_________________
Leopold the Cat



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 4:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:49 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Russian Federation
My computer is running on preinstalled Windows 8 64-bit (Hewlett-Packard notebook) - can this be an issue? By default there is standard HOSTS file used. When I replace a standard file with hpHosts file it starts to be impossible to open any sites, HostsMan can ping sites but only if I tick the "internal DNS resolver" box, after, until DNS service is disabled, neither I can change the HOSTS file back to standard one nor HostsMan can restore it even if it is running with admin (UAC) rights. Something wrong in my system.

_________________
Leopold the Cat



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 4:02 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6008
The routers config is unlikely to have any affect if it's just installing the HOSTS file that causes it.

It's possible one of the entries is causing it, but without a pcap (wireshark.org) or being able to see the machine myself, I'm a little puzzled (the HOSTS file just blocks hostnames, it doesn't block IPs).

Are you able to load this in the browser?

82.165.40.133

If so, it's possible your connection relies on the DNS Client service (assuming it was only disabled when installing the HOSTS file?). This is usually only required on corporate and some SMB networks, not usually required on a typical residential ISP connection.

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 4:03 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6008
NickVini wrote:
My computer is running on preinstalled Windows 8 64-bit (Hewlett-Packard notebook) - can this be an issue? By default there is standard HOSTS file used. When I replace a standard file with hpHosts file it starts to be impossible to open any sites, HostsMan can ping sites but only if I tick the "internal DNS resolver" box, after, until DNS service is disabled, neither I can change the HOSTS file back to standard one nor HostsMan can restore it even if it is running with admin (UAC) rights. Something wrong in my system.


This sounds like something is blocking it, you should be able to restore the original without issue (its being Windows 8 won't be the cause).

You can re-start in Safe Mode to restore the HOSTS file if its being blocked in "normal" mode. Ensure you re-start the DNS Client service as well (it should be set to automatic by default)

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 4:08 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:49 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Russian Federation
MysteryFCM wrote:
This sounds like something is blocking it, you should be able to restore the original without issue (its being Windows 8 won't be the cause).

You can re-start in Safe Mode to restore the HOSTS file if its being blocked in "normal" mode.


No problem for me, sure I can restore in safe mode, but I can't use hpHosts file for some reason :cry: Maybe its being HP is the cause. Probably I should contact their support, but I doubt they will help me.

_________________
Leopold the Cat



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 4:14 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6008
Being HP won't be the cause. Based on the symptoms, it's likely your connection relies on the DNS Client service.

If possible, can you try installing the optimized version of hpHosts, and leaving the DNS Client service enabled please? (will allow determination of whether that is the cause or not).

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
hpHosts and hpHosts Online are copyright © Malwarebytes Corp - All Rights Reserved

Powered by phpBB © 2000-2009 phpBB Group