Check Website
Inclusion Status
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 9:12 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2015 2:25 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:49 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Russian Federation
I fully disabled DNS client and installed optimized HOSTS file, then restarted computer.
To be clear: Prior to this moment I was disabling DNS client and setting it to start manually - now I fully disabled it.

Now nothing prevents me from editing and replacing HOSTS file, but there is another issue - as soon as I run Internet Explorer it loads my system heavily = no one site is accessible, still can access IP's. After I restore HOSTS to standard one (DNS client remains fully disabled) everything starts to work just fine.

My notebook is an idiotic clown that mocks at me :lol: I've never had such problems on any other PC. Thanks, Pavilion g6, you killed me. :lol:

_________________
Leopold the Cat



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2015 1:26 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6001
Sorry for the delay.

The high load is likely due to the large HOSTS file used (assuming you're using the full version and not the version that excludes PHA and FSA entries). Using the Optimized version should normally prevent this happening.

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2015 1:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:49 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Russian Federation
MysteryFCM wrote:
Sorry for the delay.

The high load is likely due to the large HOSTS file used (assuming you're using the full version and not the version that excludes PHA and FSA entries). Using the Optimized version should normally prevent this happening.


Hm.. I used HOSTS-Optimized.txt (18,4 Mb)

Maybe VMware is the cause (I disabled all VMware services)? Maybe I should completely reinstall (restore) my system... It is still unknown to me why Pavilion doesn't accept any HOSTS other than default one.

_________________
Leopold the Cat



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 11:22 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6001
Can you try this one, and let me know if the problem persists please?

http://hosts-file.net/download/hosts-NOPHAFSA.txt

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Tue May 05, 2015 11:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:49 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Russian Federation
MysteryFCM wrote:
Can you try this one, and let me know if the problem persists please?

http://hosts-file.net/download/hosts-NOPHAFSA.txt


Steve, it works! :P

_________________
Leopold the Cat



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2015 4:10 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6001
Cheers for letting me know :)

Confirms it was the larger file (that one doesn't include the pharma/fraud (PHA, FSA) sites) to blame :(

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2015 12:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:49 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Russian Federation
MysteryFCM wrote:
Cheers for letting me know :)

Confirms it was the larger file (that one doesn't include the pharma/fraud (PHA, FSA) sites) to blame :(


What to do then :?:

What services causing this problem... I'd make a snapshot of "services.msc" to share with you if it would help understand better, but unfortunately my OS is a single language version (RU) and I cannot switch to English :cry:

_________________
Leopold the Cat



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2015 2:39 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6001
The two most common causes of this are typically;

1. DNS Client service being enabled*
2. Lack of RAM

Other factors sometimes play a part, but these are the most common.

I'm planning to release an updated HOSTS file by the weekend that will see a plethora of domains being removed, hopefully that'll work better :)

* DNS Client service is only typically required on corporate networks, and should be completely disabled if using the full hpHosts file

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2015 3:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:49 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Russian Federation
MysteryFCM wrote:
2. Lack of RAM


Hmm, Steven, I have 5.9 GB RAM (exactly there are only 1.7 used out of 5.5 GBs - ~30%).

MysteryFCM wrote:
* DNS Client service is only typically required on corporate networks, and should be completely disabled if using the full hpHosts file


Well,my PC is not a part of corporate network in this case. One 4x LAN router - two PCs connected to it via Ethernet; tablets, phones, AV receivers connected via WiFi, usual home network.

_________________
Leopold the Cat



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2015 4:54 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6001
In that case, disabling the DNS Client should normally work :)

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
hpHosts and hpHosts Online are copyright © Malwarebytes Corp - All Rights Reserved

Powered by phpBB © 2000-2009 phpBB Group