Check Website
Inclusion Status
It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 9:09 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 4:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:49 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Russian Federation
MysteryFCM wrote:
The routers config is unlikely to have any affect if it's just installing the HOSTS file that causes it.

It's possible one of the entries is causing it, but without a pcap (wireshark.org) or being able to see the machine myself, I'm a little puzzled (the HOSTS file just blocks hostnames, it doesn't block IPs).

Are you able to load this in the browser?

82.165.40.133

If so, it's possible your connection relies on the DNS Client service (assuming it was only disabled when installing the HOSTS file?). This is usually only required on corporate and some SMB networks, not usually required on a typical residential ISP connection.


So, here's what I did some minutes ago:
Disabled DNS client (set it to start manually)
Using HostMan successfully replaced standard HOSTS by hpHosts file
Tried to access google.com - not accessible; tried to access IP address - it works! I even tried to access other IP's they load good as well. Hostnames are not accessible.

Last step: restarted in safe mode, restored HOSTS back to standard and enabled DNS client and set it to run automatically.

Steven, I've no idea what's wrong with my system but there is something wrong otherwise it would normally allow to use HOSTS editions other than default one.

_________________
Leopold the Cat



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 4:44 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6001
Can you repeat the steps, but NOT disable the DNS Client service this time please? (I suspect your connection relies on it)

/edit

Setting it to manual is the same as disabled unless you start the service manually. You need to ensure its set to Automatic instead of Manual/Disabled.

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 4:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:49 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Russian Federation
MysteryFCM wrote:
If possible, can you try installing the optimized version of hpHosts, and leaving the DNS Client service enabled please? (will allow determination of whether that is the cause or not).


Ok, I will try optimized now.

_________________
Leopold the Cat



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 4:47 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6001
Cheers :)

I've got to go in a couple hours or so (spending the day with my son), but will be online until then, and again when I get back this evening.

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 5:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:49 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Russian Federation
MysteryFCM wrote:
Cheers :)

I've got to go in a couple hours or so (spending the day with my son), but will be online until then, and again when I get back this evening.


I wish you and your son to spend a good day Steven ;)

_________________
Leopold the Cat



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 5:11 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6001
Cheers :)

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 5:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:49 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Russian Federation
Cheers :mrgreen:


I used edition from hosts-optimized.zip, absolutely the same issue. Can't load sites, still can access IP's.
Today will take a closer look to understand what's really going wrong with system to finally sort out this issue.

_________________
Leopold the Cat



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Sun May 03, 2015 5:18 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6001
Was the DNS Client enabled or disabled?

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2015 1:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:49 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Russian Federation
MysteryFCM wrote:
Was the DNS Client enabled or disabled?


Steven, I have tried with the DNS client enabled and disabled - absolutely the same problem. I am somewhat disappointed with my system, still can't find the solution :cry:

I think I drop it and install Windows from disc. This preinstalled is a pain.

_________________
Leopold the Cat



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Hosts file does not work for me
PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2015 1:38 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 12:49 pm
Posts: 358
Location: Russian Federation
Last try with Hewlett-Packard junk... I noticed strange thing: my processor (by the way, AMD A8) is highly loaded (almost 50%) after replacing standard file by hpHosts file, it is even with DNS client disabled and even with optimized HOSTS edition. I'll try to disable all Hewlett-Packard services via services.msc.

_________________
Leopold the Cat



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 34 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
hpHosts and hpHosts Online are copyright © Malwarebytes Corp - All Rights Reserved

Powered by phpBB © 2000-2009 phpBB Group