Check Website
Inclusion Status
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 8:54 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Ineed help with my laptop HostsMan file
PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2015 12:42 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:09 am
Posts: 105
Hello Steven

I am on my laptop and need help with the HostsMan on this one. I tried the instructions below after renaming to Old Host. I am not getting the choice of Configure Updater. What to do?

1. Load HostsMan
2. Click Configure Updater
3. Under Default Action, select Replace Hosts file
4. Click Apply, then OK
5. Click Check for Updates


Attachments:
My Laptop info.jpg
My Laptop info.jpg [ 59.68 KiB | Viewed 1761 times ]
HostsMan.jpg
HostsMan.jpg [ 41.06 KiB | Viewed 1761 times ]

IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Ineed help with my laptop HostsMan file
PostPosted: Mon May 11, 2015 12:49 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6001
Click Dismiss and the configure option should be present again :)

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Ineed help with my laptop HostsMan file
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2015 11:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:09 am
Posts: 105
Okay. What can I do to reduce the size of the HostsMan file or is it okay as is? See attachment in earlier post of this thread.



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Ineed help with my laptop HostsMan file
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2015 3:58 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6001
The size will increase and decrease automatically, as new updates are out, so you'll not need to do anything :) (for example, I'm currently removing 270K from hpHosts (no longer resolving))

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Ineed help with my laptop HostsMan file
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2015 8:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:09 am
Posts: 105
Thanks Steven. :D



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Ineed help with my laptop HostsMan file
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2015 10:08 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6001
It remains a pleasure :)

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Ineed help with my laptop HostsMan file
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2015 8:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:09 am
Posts: 105
Hello Steven,

I have no way of knowing, at this point whether the size of my HostsMan will decrease because I am still trying to get it to take up0dates. I am receiving help at the HostsMan site. One thing I can tell you now is that my machine is running at a glacial pace.

Anne



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Ineed help with my laptop HostsMan file
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2015 9:50 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6001
I'm suspecting the old HOSTS file is still in place.

If possible, please do the following;

1. Close (exit) HostsMan
2. Click Start -> Run
3. Paste the following and press enter;

%systemroot%\system32\drivers\etc

4. Rename HOSTS to HOSTS.OLD
6. Load HostsMan
7. Click Check for Updates

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Ineed help with my laptop HostsMan file
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2015 10:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:09 am
Posts: 105
See attached.


Attachments:
Hosts.jpg
Hosts.jpg [ 63.17 KiB | Viewed 1692 times ]

IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: Ineed help with my laptop HostsMan file
PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2015 10:34 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6001
Yep, based on the screenshot, the HOSTS file hasn't been updated.

Delete HOSTS, HOSTS.bak and HOSTS.tmp

Once done, the HostsMan updater should work, and your system should speed up considerably.

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
hpHosts and hpHosts Online are copyright © Malwarebytes Corp - All Rights Reserved

Powered by phpBB © 2000-2009 phpBB Group