Check Website
Inclusion Status
It is currently Fri Nov 24, 2017 5:32 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: I need help with my HostsMan.
PostPosted: Sun Apr 26, 2015 9:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:09 am
Posts: 105
Banner ads and pop-ups are back with a vengeance as if the file was not there at all. Good news; HostsMan is still working on my desktop.



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I need help with my HostsMan.
PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2015 2:33 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:09 am
Posts: 105
The laptop is not blocking banners and pop-ups. And something new; my desktop's HostsMan has failed to update. See attached.


Attachments:
Update Failed.jpg
Update Failed.jpg [ 35.39 KiB | Viewed 911 times ]

IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I need help with my HostsMan.
PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2015 12:46 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6001
Sorry for the delay.

Please first check there's nothing blocking it (updates will usually only fail when it can't reach the sites it needs to pull the files from), such as security software/firewall.

If that's been checked, please re-run the HostsMan installer.

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I need help with my HostsMan.
PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2015 9:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:09 am
Posts: 105
Hello Steve,

I'm sorry to hit you with needing help with both my machines. On my desktop I turned off my Avast, but to no avail. I am still showing a failed update How do I re-run the HostsMan installer?

I suppose we can then go on to figure out why HostsMan is not running at all on my laptop.

Thank you,
Anne



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I need help with my HostsMan.
PostPosted: Mon Apr 27, 2015 10:43 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6001
Anne,
No apologies necessary.

To re-run the installer, download the following;

http://hostsman2.it-mate.co.uk/HostsMan ... taller.zip

Once downloaded, extract the zip (right click -> Extract), then double click the installer.

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I need help with my HostsMan.
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2015 2:04 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:09 am
Posts: 105
I downloaded the installer and ran it. I still see the "Update Failed" on my HostsMan window.



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I need help with my HostsMan.
PostPosted: Tue Apr 28, 2015 3:25 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6001
I'll point the developer here, hopefully he'll be able to pinpoint the issue for you.

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I need help with my HostsMan.
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 11:27 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:09 am
Posts: 105
Hello Steven, What's the latest? Anne



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I need help with my HostsMan.
PostPosted: Wed Apr 29, 2015 11:46 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Thu May 28, 2009 10:25 am
Posts: 6001
Am waiting for the developer I'm afraid (dropped him a PM).

/edit

The HostsMan forums are here btw :)

http://forum.abelhadigital.com

_________________
Regards
Steven Burn
I.T. Mate / hpHosts
it-mate.co.uk / hosts-file.net

Keeping it FREE!



IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: I need help with my HostsMan.
PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 7:02 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:09 am
Posts: 105
Thanks for the heads up Steven. I'll give the forum you mentioned a look around. Anne. :D

Update-

I went to http://forum.abelhadigital.com and tried to register and got an error message. See attached.


Attachments:
General Error.jpg
General Error.jpg [ 44.55 KiB | Viewed 894 times ]

IP:
top
Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
hpHosts and hpHosts Online are copyright © Malwarebytes Corp - All Rights Reserved

Powered by phpBB © 2000-2009 phpBB Group